What does Kevin think?

He’s got an opinion on everything.

Times are crazy but fear not

So on my way to work this morning I heard on the radio “Washington Mutual failed last night.”  My stomach dropped because my paychecks are direct deposited in my Wamu checking account, my entire savings account for my family is with Wamu, I pay my mortgage and all other bills electronically through Wamu, and just about all the cash I own is in Wamu banks.  I turned the volume way up and listened intently for any further explanation.

When I got to work the first thing I did was do a google news search for Wamu to find out what the deal is.  After some reading I feel slightly better but this is crazy…

Apparently Wamu failing is the largest U.S. bank failure in U.S. history by far: http://seekingalpha.com/article/97536-how-does-the-wamu-failure-compare

It’s pretty scary what is going on in the world right now but I am reminded that all of these things are in preparation for the return of the Lord:

D&C 45:26, 34, 35, 44, 59

“And in that day shall be heard of wars and rumors of wars, and the whole earth shall be in commotion, and men’s hearts shall fail them, and they shall say that Christ delayeth his coming until the end of the earth.

And now, when I the Lord had spoken these words unto my disciples, they were troubled.

And I said unto them: Be not toubled, for, when all these things shall come to pass, ye may know that the promises which have been made unto you shall be fulfilled.

And then they shall look for me, and, behold, I will come; and they shall see me in the clouds of heaven, clothed with power and great glory; with all the holy angels; and he that watches not for me shall be cut off.

For the Lord shall be in their midst, and his glory shall be upon them, and he will be their king and their lawgiver.”

Now more than ever we should be turning to the Lord for everything because it’s painfully obvious that the world is very troubled and needs guidance.  Politicians do not have the answers we need and nothing less than the guidance of the Lord will do.

September 26, 2008 - Posted by | Economics, Family, Religion

3 Comments »

  1. That news scared me too since that’s who we bank with. Everything I read seems to indicate that we’re protected and our deposits will be fine, but I still worry. Scary stuff . . .

    Comment by David Goodyear | October 3, 2008

  2. Kev,
    What did you think about my reponse to Amy’s Blog last week?

    Comment by Dad | November 12, 2008

  3. I liked it and totally agree.

    Comment by Kevin Brown | November 14, 2008


Leave a Reply

